It’s A Kind Of Magic by Carole Matthews

Leo is a selfish and inconsiderate boyfriend, and after making a drunken show of himself at Emma’s birthday dinner, she decides that enough is enough and breaks up with him. On the same night, Leo meets a beautiful stranger called Isabel, and his life changes forever…

To be honest, the general premise of the plotline didn’t work for me. I’m not usually a fan of stories with magic, but I decided to give it a go, but I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t like the way that the other characters felt sorry for Leo – he is an awful character – and it seems like everyone is against Emma (a nice person, although she can verge on irritating at times), which I thought was unjustified. The idea of Isabel being with Leo is bizarre and the story really stretches the reader’s belief. Reading this, I found the story dull and uninteresting – nothing and no-one was really likeable, and I ended up giving up halfway. 1 star.

Leave a Reply

