Citizen Girl – Nicola Kraus and Emma McLaughlin

It’s not often that I abandon a book; I usually try to persevere with it, no matter how awful it seems (re: A Hopeless Romantic by Harriet Evans) but in the case of Citizen Girl, I’ll make an exception. The story follows “Girl”, recently fired from her job and looking to improve her life and achieve her goals.
There are 3 big weaknesses:

  1. The writing style is poor – it doesn’t captivate you or interest you whatsoever
  2. Plotwise it is dull – as it is, I have no interest in how the story will develop
  3. The characters are boring and there is no-one to connect with. One reason may be that giving characters names like “Goatee” or labels like “Girl” (which is over used and smacks of arrogance and self-indulgence, trying to be too clever for its own good) makes them seem generic and bland. Another reason is that the authors fail to portray them properly – no insight is given into the characters themselves, and the novel feels quite shallow as a result.

Overall, Citizen Girl is a paper story with cardboard characters. There is no substance to it, nothing exciting about it and it feels pointless to continue to read it, unless anyone can persuade me otherwise, a large task in itself. Still, at least the front cover looks nice. 1/2 star

Originally posted 15/03/2012

2 thoughts on “Citizen Girl – Nicola Kraus and Emma McLaughlin

    • Normally I try to finish a book whenever I can, but I don’t think I could have coped much longer if I forced myself to continue! Well done on getting to 1/4 of the book, I think that’s more that I read haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

