The Chocolate Lovers’ Diet – Carole Matthews

This is a follow up to The Chocolate Lovers’ Club, another popular story written by Matthews which follows the story of the main character, Lucy Lombard, and her three best friends, Chantal, Autumn and Nadia. I haven’t yet read the first book, but I was filled in on the events by my sister, who liked the first book enormously. However, it wasn’t too hard to get into the story, as important events were explained in the second book well, so I didn’t feel like I was missing out too much.

This book sees Lucy having to choose between two men, Chantal coping with impending motherhood, Autumn finding romance and having to deal with her drug-addicted brother Richard, and Nadia reacting to her husband’s gambling habit. What works is the friendship that these 4 women have – and this really shows throughout the book as they help each other deal with new crises that life brings, and culminates in a drug handover that Autumn gets herself involved in – showing the strength of the relationship.

What doesn’t work for me is the constant references to chocolate. I like chocolate. A lot. But it doesn’t become frustrating to see it mentioned so often. I guess that it fits in with what brought these women together, but for me I didn’t like it so much. The main character, Lucy, is not especially likeable and her story wasn’t that great. In fact, I find myself more drawn to the stories of the women, which were more interesting, and these supporting characters were more likeable. Yes they were flawed but this added to their character.

All in all, I think it was a well written book, with its flaws. I don’t think there is anything special in the storyline but a solid effort from Carole Matthews. 3 Stars.

Leave a Reply

