A Hopeless Romantic – Harriet Evans

Reading the synopsis for this, I was intrigued by this book so I headed off to get a copy from my local library. I have started reading this (so not finished quite yet) but I have to say I am not enjoying this book. The main character is very unlikeable – she is having an affair with another man, who tells her he loves her and wants to be with her – quite cliched. The main character, Laura, is so selfish and so obsessed with this man that it is hard for any reader to be charmed by her “wonderful” character. Usually what sells a chick-lit novel is the appeal of the main character, but in Laura, there doesn’t seem to be anything redeeming, I feel sorry more for the pigeon that has an unfortunate incident than I do when things go wrong for Laura. At the moment, she is on an extended holiday with her family, which is utterly boring to read about.

Perhaps I am being too hasty, after all, I haven’t read the majority of the book yet, but the problem is, I don’t really connect with the story or the characters. With other novels, such as You Drive Me Crazy -see below, I can’t wait to see what happens next and find it hard to put the book down. A Hopeless Romantic, on the other hand, does not bother me when I stop reading it, and when I am reading it, makes me sleepy. I will persevere nonetheless to see whether the story improves, and whether Laura has any redeeming features/ changes in personality…

Leave a Reply

